It All Started with a Drawing #2

Rosary: n. A set of prayers common in the Roman Catholic Church, said during meditation on events in the lives of Jesus and Mary, the mother of Jesus.  A rosary is also the string of beads that the worshiper uses to count the prayers. From dictionary.com

I guess its no surprise to most who read this blog that I like to work with my hands.  Its something I find very cathartic, and use my “skills” to help relieve stress from the day.  One of my most favorite hobbies is to create jewelry.  I’m not the greatest jewelry maker in the world, but I do like to test my skills by creating things I see in my head.  Right now, I’m looking for some thin but good quality black and white PVC fabric (I may use canvas as a cheaper alternative for now) to create a cuff bracelet idea that you can alternate between the colors.  I don’t know if it’ll work, but I did get the idea from a post on these wonderful shoes Nubby Twiglet wore.

Anyway, I do like to create different types of jewelry, but what introduced me to the whole jewelry making idea was something I had hanging on my wall since my 15th birthday…a rosary.  One night, not feeling well, I was lying on my bed looking at my rosaries, they were swaying in the breeze created by my fan when I noticed something…they were handmade!  Not only handmade but they were made using tools and supplies I could find at Hobby Lobby!  Off to the internets I went, doing research on how I could create something that has given me comfort for a long while.  So once the research was done, and my shift at Hobby Lobby started the next day, I went and got 59 beads, a package of 100 silver plated brass eye pins, some cheap-o Hobby Lobby brand mini tool set (I DO NOT RECOMMEND THESE) and went to work.  After about three days of trial and error, I had come out with my first rosary, pictured in the Photography Challeng Day 20 – Bokeh.  I’m still very proud of my rosary, because I had offers to purchase it for someone’s use, but sadly, I did not take them on that offer, the rosary is kind of like a store’s first dollar bill, it is something to display, not to be put back in the till for later use.

Anyway, at Christmas, my cousin had told us that she decided to go ahead and have a Quinceñera.  While we were excited, I knew that the daunting task of being the madrina of the rosary fell to me.  Right then and there I KNEW this wouldn’t be an ordinary Rosary.

  • A good description of a Mexican styled Quinceñera can be found here at Wikipedia.
  • A good example of being a Padrino/Madrina can be found here at Yahoo Answers.

So to repeat a phrase that has been used in my blog before, “it all started with a drawing.” and below is a sketch I made when I found out that her Quinceñera was going to have a star and spring theme with her chosen color as purple.

When I decided to work on her rosary, I knew I wanted to use flower and star beads as part of the design, since this was a special day; I wanted to incorporate her theme into her design.  The flowers represent springtime and I originally wanted to do pastel pinks, oranges, blues, greens and purples to represent the theme of spring and use purple stars in the mix, but once I looked at that price! I had to go back to the drawing board (in total I was going to be using 112 beads!!!).  So I settled on her color purple: purple flowers, and purple stars.  The 53 flowers are the Hail Mary prayer beads, and the stars are the Our Father prayer/ Mystery meditation beads.   Now, I did want to use gunmetal or dark green findings but I couldn’t find colors that fit and those findings were more expensive than the ones I normally use so I decided to use silver findings instead.

Each rosary now takes me about an hour or two, depending on what I’m doing at that moment and if I have all my supplies.  With this rosary, it took me about an hour and a half, most of it done at school on my off period. The chain is usually the hardest to find, especially when you have a design in mind, but sometimes you have to make do with what you can get.

When I design rosaries, I design them with the person in mind, their personalities, their likes and dislikes, and usually have the people I’m making the rosary for choose the color they want in the beads to be.  I’ve been through dozens of rosaries in my lifetime, mostly because they were plastic beads on thin twine that broke after the first use.  When I went to design the rosaries, I wanted to make sure I use beads that will not fall apart, or use findings that will bend and brake after some use. I just hope my cousin Lizzie likes her rosary.

Don’t know how to pray the rosary? Go here for help!

 

About theoracleofdreams
The Oracle of Dreams is a High School teacher, who spends a great deal of time outside of school watching movies, listening to music, and various other artistic ventures. The Oracle of Dreams is a pseudonym for reasons beyond her knowledge, and wishes to keep her identity secret...or until she makes big bucks and can leave the teaching field...one can always dream bigger right?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

