A Paranormal Library – Darkness on the Edge of Town Paranormal Radio Show

I would like to preface my review by stating that I have purchased all the books I review for the public.  I am in no way being paid for my reviews, but I am sharing my favorite paranormal books for your reading pleasure.  The opinions expressed in these books do not always reflect my own personal opinion, but I do find these topics fascinating.  Your purchases of these books do not monetarily benefit me, nor do I gain points with your readership or purchase.  I am sure, however, that the authors do enjoy your patronage.  Happy reading Dreamers!

This disclaimer is in reference of my use of the word “paranormal.”  My use of the word “paranormal” refers to anything that is not normal, be it ghosts, conspiracy theories or aliens.  If the topic is not part of conventional beliefs, then it is paranormal.  So please do not bombard me with comments about how something is or is not paranormal.

Darkness on the Edge of Town Paranormal Radio Show

I first heard of Darkness Radio while I was enjoying a new episode of Jim Harold’s Campfire.  Darkness Radio Host Dave Schrader was on an episode of Jim Harold’s Campfire recounting a personal ghost experiences.  While I can’t recall (OR FIND) the episode in which he was featured in, I do know that it sparked an interest in this new radio show.

Darkness Radio was started in January 2006, and the show discusses all types of topics regarding the paranormal. In the short time I’ve been listening to the show, the topics discussed have ranged from Men In Black, Cryptozoology, the destiny of a Sociopath, How to create a better spiritual self, personal ghost accounts from people who have published books, Psychic readings and a break down of what really went on in the Amityville house.  What has been very interesting topic they’ve been discussing in the relatively recent events of Caylee Anthony’s death, was what happens to a sociopath after they die, and other real life cases in which Medium/ Psychic Attorney Mark Anthony discusses his own readings regarding several sociopaths who crossed over. One interesting topic that has been discussed on Darkness Radio is a study from listeners and guests alike who have had an experience with the Black Eyed Kids.

Darkness Radio hosts are Dave Schrader, Mallie Fox and Producer Tim Dennis, or Timmy D if you catch them on a Friday where Paranormal News is the day’s topic.  Dave is the main host and executive producer of Darkness Radio while he also hosts darkness events, contributes to TAPS ParaMagazine, co-authored The Other Side, 2009, lectured in conferences around the world regarding the paranormal, has been featured on tv shows such as Paranormal State and Ghost Adventures, and is the Head Judged on Travel Channel’s Paranormal Challenge.  Mallie Fox is the co hostess of the show, where she gives insight on topics and is an all around dear when it comes to the show, while Tim Dennis is an old friend of Dave’s whose skeptic beliefs keeps the guests on their toes.  Due to the close-knit ties each host has with one another, the show has this family feeling that one can “feel” when listening to the show.  This approach makes the guests feel comfortable and feel like they can joke around with the hosts and make a serious topic feel less serious, but keep the tone of the topic.

Now, every Friday, the Darkness Radio crew holds a Paranormal News night in which strange Paranormal accounts are read to the audience.  The crew jokes about some of these accounts, and there are at times I’m laughing hysterically in the car due to the crazy antics these guys get themselves into.  Some listeners really do not like Paranormal News night due to the fact that Paranormal News should be taken seriously.  I’m sorry though, another sighting of Jesus on a Wal-Mart receipt and the proud owners of said receipt are so backwaters hick that I can’t understand a word they say will prompt me into a hysterical bout of laughter.  It’s just that funny. Which is why I get where the Darkness Radio crew is coming from.  There are stories that are reported that are so out there, you can’t help but laugh, and sometimes we do need laughter in the world.

There is an archive you can listen to on all the past Darkness Radio shows that have aired, but there is one small problem, the shows won’t download…at least not until March of 2011 on a show that has been going on since January of 2006.  Honestly though, this mishap really doesn’t bother me at all, that’s just too much Darkness Radio to listen to on my already short schedule frame, but you do get the feel for the show starting from March 2011.  I honestly cannot get enough of this show, the hosts are HI-Larious, and they do bring on wonderful guests.  In fact I’m searching for my next book to review from one of the guests that was featured on both Darkness Radio and The Paranormal Podcast (which reset it’s RSS Feed to January of this year!!! I’m not done with 2011 yet!!).

As I mentioned earlier, the show has been conducting a study on the Black Eyed Kids Phenomena (BEK) that has been around for several years.  Through this study Dave, Mallie and Tim allow people to discuss their own personal events regarding this phenomena and allow their guests to describe their own personal experiences.  Now, I have heard of this phenomena before, and this topic has always creeped me out for several reasons, and I’ll get to those later.

The BEKs were first INTERNET noted on the internet by a man named Brian Bethel on January 16, 1998.  His story began when two boys had approached his car and asked for a ride.  Not phased by the request, since he did live in an area where one did not have to worry about such requests going bad, he had no qualms in letting the boys in the car.  They looked like normal kids with olive skin, dark hair and somewhat stylish for the times.  The boys explained further that they were on their way to a movie and forgot their money at home, and didn’t feel like making the walk back to their home, Brian was about to let them in when he had a strange feeling come over him.  Listening to this “feeling” he looked up once more at the boys and noticed that their eyes were  completely black.  Freaking out, Brian left, while the boys chased his car for a bit.

The BEKs are children, some are reported as young as 9 or 10 and as old as 15 or 16, I have heard of reports in which the BEKs are older teenagers, but those accounts just don’t seem as likely.  ANYWAY, all the reports are almost the same, people hearing children outside the home crying or laughing, and then the children knock on the door or a window asking to be let in. Some people look through their peep-holes or out the windows and see some young children at their doorstep.  The children ask again to be let in and that is usually when the person sees that something is wrong with the child.  The clothes are either super stylish or slightly outdated, outdated in a sense that a girl is wearing a Victorian child’s dress with modern tights.  And while the person is deciding to let in the children, they notice something even more strange, the child’s eyes are completely black and they refuse to let the child in.

No one really knows who these children are, and there have been no reports of someone letting the child into their home and what has happened afterwards.  One thing has remained consistent in all these BEK reports, they cannot come into the house, that is until I started listening to Darkness Radio.  There was one caller who told the show that she had woken up from being sound asleep with the feeling that she was being watched, and when she looked over on her side of the bed, she could see three children with dark eyes staring at her IN HER OWN BEDROOM!!!  The one in the middle (the boy, he was with two girls) told her that he just wanted to watch her sleep, and when she woke up in the morning they were gone!  Another was a caller who was recounting a story that had happened to his mother when she lived in Korea during the war.  She was a light sleeper and had woken up from being asleep to see the door adjacent to the family bedroom was open (this door led to the outside of the house) and there was a boy standing just out of the doorway, the boy was her brother, and he was motioning for her to come outside with him.  Knowing it was her brother she started walking towards the door, and tripped over something and cut her knee pretty bad, when she went to look at what she tripped over, she realized it was her brother sound asleep on the floor! She looked back up at the other brother and noticed that his eyes were silver in the moonlight and he was motioning very angrily to her to come outside and she flipped out and ran back under the covers next to her mother.  She then heard the footsteps coming closer to her and her mother and started to feel its hands trying to reach for her.  It didn’t stop until her mother woke up and asked the girl, who was in shock what had happened.  The family was told the story and they stayed up for the rest of the night praying, feeling that it was one of the deceased siblings who wanted to take the girl with him.  Either way, it shocked me that there were two instances in which BEKs were able to get into the house!!

Here’s a strange account as I was writing this blog post, it wasn’t about the one I was going to mention earlier, I SWEAR IT!, but it is something that just happened.  As I was writing the history of the blog post, I was sitting on my downstairs couch with my two dogs and my sister’s kitten sleeping soundly next to me.  My cat was upstairs with my parents and my sister was out with a friend.  So as I was typing this post, I heard someone or something knocking on the two downstairs windows.  Now these aren’t just some regular window, they’re two HUGE picture windows that sit right next to each other with the porch door in the middle of them.  BOTH those windows, which are over 6 feet apart were KNOCKING!! Not just one knock, but a series of knocks that sounded like two people knocking as if needing to be let in, kind of like an emergency knock.  I don’t know how to explain the knocking but it sounded urgent.  I didn’t move when I heard the knocking, but the dogs and kitten sure did, all three running to the windows to check out the sound.  Thinking it was a prank played by my sister I called her, and sure enough she was still at Big Texas with her friend Scott.  My parents didn’t hear the knocking nor the barking that started shortly thereafter.  I got my baseball bat, and went to the windows, opened each one flicking the light on and saw nothing, opened the short window on the back door and heard nothing, the air was SILENT, we usually have some late night doves cooing in the dark, and an owl lives in the tree behind our house who is usually Whooo-ing up a storm at this time of night, but NO! NO SOUND AT ALL.  Really strange right?  Maybe I’m going crazy…I don’t know!  I’m calling it hail and leaving it at that since we’re supposed to be getting a big storm tonight, even though the storm is nowhere near the outskirts of Houston, let alone the NW side of Houston.

If you have any Black Eyed Kids stories to share, please do! I’d love to figure out what the hell these things are!  Or what is your opinion regarding the BEKs, some say it’s just an internet hoax.

Go to paranormal.about.com for some other information on BEKs

About theoracleofdreams
The Oracle of Dreams is a High School teacher, who spends a great deal of time outside of school watching movies, listening to music, and various other artistic ventures. The Oracle of Dreams is a pseudonym for reasons beyond her knowledge, and wishes to keep her identity secret...or until she makes big bucks and can leave the teaching field...one can always dream bigger right?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

