My Fashion History and The Modern Business Bohemian

So, when I started this blog, I had a feeling that I was going to discuss my style ideas and how I can transform my style into something more up to date, more “with it” as some of my students prefer to tell me. My current style as of now consists of shades of black, gray, dark brown, cream and white. I add in some colors that are cheap jewel toned tops I have found in Target, JC Penny’s and Wal-Mart. My pants are purchased only from The Limited in the Cassidy Style as I personally feel, are the only style pants The Limited has that look good on me. I tend to also top these pants with bold stripe printed shirts, or polka dots, and top it off with a cardigan (the only ones I own are in Grey, Purple and Cream). The look I’ve owned since high school: Boring Librarian.

So, in order to stop this Librarian look, I went through catalogs, magazines, and websites to look at different tops, dresses, pants and skirts that I find attractive, while keeping in perspective of several things:

  1. The clothes HAVE to be school appropriate!
    • No low-cut tops!!! They have to be a crew neck or a rounded neck.
    • Shirts hems HAVE to fall at or between mid hip or mid-thigh.
    • Pants or Skirts have to fall either on my natural waist line, or the top of my hip.
    • Skirts cannot go higher than my knee, I have long legs, and they tend to look gangly with anything higher than that.
    • Shoes: Flats, flats and more stylish flats!
  2. Since I left my second job, they HAVE to convert from both Day and Night, with easy cleaning (I put a stop at hand wash and line dry).
  3. They HAVE to have some color in them!
    • Printed or otherwise
  4. Nice Jacket tops/Jacket looking cardigans.

With these in mind I started pulling images from the web that I liked, looking at tops that fit this criteria, and started pulling outfits that I could use. This is the result:

Sailor Sweater, JCrew, $88.00

Vintage Cowlneck Tee, JCrew, $39.50

Striped Painter Tee, JCrew, $42.50

Floral Print Tank, F21, $10.80

Ruffled Neck Top, F21, $22.90

Bow Tie Blouse, F21, $16.90

Berkeley Hills, ModCloth, $49.99

Sel Marin Tank, ModCloth, $34.99

Loop and Button Blazer, F21, $32.80

Lace the Morning Blazer, ModCloth, $84.99

Pyramidal Neuron Necklace, Morphologica (etsy), $39.50

This is what I ended up with, after a bit of brainstorming picking fashions that I do like, I came up with feminine floral prints, romantic ruffles, bold stripe and tailored, almost business like blazers with a straight pant leg, fitting on my thigh and hip. I came up with the name, Modern Business Bohemian, because of the flowy tops I picked out with the floral prints, the business from the structured jacket and dress pants, while the modern is mixed with the intriguing jewelry such as the Necklace by Morphologica, or the bold stripes in the sweaters above. I picked these pieces for comfort, I’m standing in front of teenagers everyday, I need some comfort, but also function, I can wear most of these with some good skinny jeans, some nice booties or boots. As for shoes, you can imagine the amount of flats I will accumulate to accommodate the idea of “Comfy”, these shoes will also reflect my style, coming in different forms of floral, stripe, plaid and solids. I even own some great booties from Hot Topic and Charlotte Russe!

Once I start shopping for these items, I’ll post images from my finds, with outfit ideas along with makeup. I’ll be posting a makeup tutorial soon on how to use my favorite eye shadows and lipsticks from Lime Crime Makeup in a daily go to teach high schoolers wear.

Regards,

The Oracle of Dreams

About theoracleofdreams
The Oracle of Dreams is a High School teacher, who spends a great deal of time outside of school watching movies, listening to music, and various other artistic ventures. The Oracle of Dreams is a pseudonym for reasons beyond her knowledge, and wishes to keep her identity secret...or until she makes big bucks and can leave the teaching field...one can always dream bigger right?

Leave a Reply

