Map of Tasmania – The Hype the Philosophy

I had to show this video, its by my most favorite artist in the whole wide world and I loved the ideology behind it, to explain some reasons behind my “hygiene.”

But first!–straight to the meaning behind the video!  When Amanda was last Down Under, she was visiting the local beach sites in Tasmania, when some random men flew by in a car screaming, “Show us your map of Tasmania!”  Perplexed by the random occurence, Amanda asked one of her friends who was a native Tasmanian, and the friend replied, “A Map of Tasmania is a local colloquialism for the lower feminine area, because Tasmania on a map, looks like the patch of hair down there.”

That’s when this project started, Amanda, inspired by the events, started writing a song that best represented the feelings towards the little know Map of Tasmania.  I couldn’t believe the hype that this is getting, on Facebook alone, I’ve been tagged to every upload of this video due to my fanatic fascination with this woman.  People everywhere are giving their two cents regarding this unexplored topics regarding shaving.

While I cannot speak for most women, and my opinions are entirely my own, I am a self-professed hypochondriac, I cannot for the life of me go with out cleaning everything with hand sanitizer and handi-wipes, especially in school.  But for the life of me I cannot spend hours shaving unnecessary places for the sake of appearances.  I do shave, I should preface that before anything else, more for work and health (I have eczema and its easier to put cream on without all that hair) but I have yet to understand why it is so important to do all this for the sake of appearances.  Who made it a rule that women have to be completely void of hair except for the eyebrows and the hair at the top of the head. Or should I bring up another shaving fashion from the past, back in the 50’s it was socially acceptable to shave off your eyebrows and draw them in, I have aunts who no longer have eyebrows because they followed this fad.

Although, this isn’t based off of my necessity to shave, I guess that I have a biased view or more of a glib view on hair, see, I have alopecia, and have been dealing with  patches of hair falling off of my head for years now.  So far in the past year, the patches appeared where no one can see them if I have my hair up or down, but seeing your hair fall at random tends to make you realize that hair is definitely relative, hair is not a necessity nor a burden, it is just that: hair.  I’ve come to terms with the fact that hair comes and goes, and it has left me ambivalent towards the shaving of other areas.  It seems that if I’m losing hair on top and not worrying about it, why should I worry about hair in other places as well?  That and I really can’t stand the stubble, I CANNOT stand the stubble!  Waxing helps but it just plain hurts. 

I guess most of my animosity towards shaving basically comes from the fact that I am just plain lazy. I really do not feel like spending my shower time shaving for reasons that were made up before I was born, I shave for my own personal reason, and no one elses, and I hope others shave for their own reasons and no one elses, its seems odd to me that people shave because we have to, without a reason, or an idea, but we’re people, we’re allowed that kind of mystery.  I do admire those who can shave their legs everyday without a blink of an eye, whereas I have to look like a Wookie in order for me to take notice of my hair on my legs. 

This is why I love this video, Amanda Palmer is just amazingly awesome, and Map of Tasmania reflects my philosophy towards shaving: “Who cares?” 

I think the best quote from Amanda was in an old blog post that I can’t find, but it was a question to the point of “Why do you not like shaving?” and Amanda’s answer was to the point of, “I don’t mind shaving, I just don’t like rules.”  That has been my philosophy since college, where the lazy really kicked in.

My lovely Dreamers, what are your opinions on this shaving debate, do you shave everything, everyday; do you shave once in a while; are you eu naturale?

Regards,

The Oracle of Dreams

About theoracleofdreams
The Oracle of Dreams is a High School teacher, who spends a great deal of time outside of school watching movies, listening to music, and various other artistic ventures. The Oracle of Dreams is a pseudonym for reasons beyond her knowledge, and wishes to keep her identity secret...or until she makes big bucks and can leave the teaching field...one can always dream bigger right?

Leave a Reply

