Gothic Charm School – A New Blog!

As it may, or may not, be very obvious, I love to read blogs.  My blog tastes have ranged from the fashion blogs, such as Doe Deere Blogazine or Style Amor, to the very random blog writings of sir Neil Gaiman.  Lately, I’ve been fancying a blog called Off Beat Bride which is a great manual to those brides who feel like they do not conform to the rigid standard of a traditional wedding. Anyway, several weeks ago a post was made regarding Goth Wedding Etiquette.  Reading the article, I noticed that the author was a blog writer herself, and her site was called Gothic Charm School.  This site is the epitome of information regarding the Goth subculture and the even more mini goth subcultures that exist in this world today. 

This is what I liked about Gothic Charm School, The Lady of the Manners, aka Jillian Venters, has spent years defining the proper etiquette for a Goth in a world of ignorance.  While most of the topics I have noticed are of bullying, many are about proper ways of dressing for work/school/life, aging gracefully as an eldergoth, or compromising with your parents regarding the way you should dress, and parents who have found this site and have questions regarding the strange way their children are dressing.  I also appreciate the fact that she even goes into fashion of the goth subculture, including the mini subcultures revolving around the name of goth and Clicky Links of great Goth Designers.  My boyfriend and I are going to be purchasing our engagement rings off one of the sites!  more to come on that later!

Lady of the Manners also has a great book out now!  It is entitled, Gothic Charm School: An Essential Guide for Goths and Those Who Love Them

This is a great book for those who wish to learn more about the Gothic Culture, or if you are a babybat who wants to know more about fashion or gain answers for the confusion of life, or for parents of babybats trying to see if what style their child has chosen is ok for them.  This book’s got it all, including the aging of the elder goths and party etiquette.  I purchased this for my nook, and I have yet to put it down, click the link or the picture above to see the Amazon page for the book.

Being a former Goth myself, I feel like I still have the attitude and when I go out and about on weekends, I tend to look more goth than my normal sunny teaching exterior.  While I do try to bring my Goth roots out to my students in class, I tend not to dress overtly goth, but the dark clothes that I’m slowly dissolving were paired with Victorian styled necklaces, and boots (I will never give up buying Victorian boots!).  While I no longer choose to dress like a professional Victorian, my life outside of school revolves around me being an absolute bat!  Besides, without my goth roots, I would have never created my alter ego, The Oracle of Dreams.  So for those who are closet Goths, real Goths, babybats, or parents of babybats trying to make sense of an eerie culture.

Regards,

The Oracle of Dreams

About theoracleofdreams
The Oracle of Dreams is a High School teacher, who spends a great deal of time outside of school watching movies, listening to music, and various other artistic ventures. The Oracle of Dreams is a pseudonym for reasons beyond her knowledge, and wishes to keep her identity secret...or until she makes big bucks and can leave the teaching field...one can always dream bigger right?

2 Responses to Gothic Charm School – A New Blog!

  1. sofi says:

    I’m not at all Goth, but I am intrigued by the culture a little. I might have to check this book out! The Bride website sounds cool, too.

    • I would definitely get the book! Its a great introduction, as well for the site, into the Goth culture. Just an fyi, every Goth is different as well and may not follow what is said in the book. Also, the Bride site is amazing and she has a book as well!!

      ❤ The Oracle of Dreams

Leave a Reply

