Sorry!

I know it has been a while, I’ve been fairly busy for the last month and a half with extra responsibilities at school.

  1. My Team Leader went off to have a baby and I was promoted to Temporary Team Leader so I can help the Long-Term Substitute with her class and such.
  2. I now had to create lesson plans, get worksheet copies, etc.
  3. Along with my grading, I had to put in the grades for my Team Leader’s class!

It was quiet an enjoyable experience, and I liked the temporary pay grade, but I may be doing this for a long while IF she decides to come back AFTER Spring Break! EEEK!

I did have some interesting comments from my children lately, and I’ll add those to the bottom of this post so you can see the specialness of my students.

On the other hand, while I did spend most of my time with added work, I never forgot about you my readers and my blog, I promise I will update you on my wardrobe (I went shopping at Old Navy!!) and show you the fact that I’m starting to become a shoe person, and the fact that I spent all the Wednesday of my Spring Break working on a rosary for my uncle’s wedding that I still have to fix!!!  But rest assured I will be posting again now that my schedule is back to normal!

Special Children Comments!

Both of these occurred on Friday March 4th, 2011:

For this part of the lesson, we were learning about WWI, and showing the students the new technology that was created to kill more people in the war.  I also told them that if they wanted to watch a movie about trench warfare I’d suggest A Very Long Engagement with Audrey Tautou.  I told them that in the movie, her fiancée went off to fight in WWI and he purposefully harmed himself to leave the war, and he was essentially sent into No Man’s Land to be executed.

I then had this new student raise her hand, “Miss! So if I decide to get on one of those old timey planes, and fight in the war, but change my mind, because I didn’t want to fight or die, I’d be killed anyway?  Cause that’s just stupid, I mean there’s free will right?”

I replied, “Well, see it is considered desertion, and even in the United States, when you desert the army, marines, navy, etc, there are repercussions to that decision.  Yes, the idea with the French Army in the movie was extreme, but different countries have different ways of dealing with desertion amongst their ranks.”

“So, the United States penalizes against me leaving? Wow, way to jerk us around America!”

 

This second one is from a later class period.  I was again, showing these black and white photos of a machine gun and a tank, and this girl taps my shoulder as the other students were writing down their notes, I turn to look at her, and she quietly asks, “Miss, I wanted to know if these people saw in black and white.”

“Excuse me?” I reply, inching closer to her so I could hear her better, “What did you ask me?” I swore at the time that she wanted to leave the class to deal with feminine problems since girls talk that quietly to a teacher.

“No miss, the pictures….”

“Yes….”

“They’re black and white….”

“yes….”

“Does that mean that during WWI, they saw in black and white…since all the pictures are in black and white?”

Keeping the urge to laugh under control, “No, that was the only way people could take pictures then, colored film is actually a new technology that came around in the late 40’s early 50’s.”

“Oh, it worried me, because you can never know….”

 

That’s it for now!  I will be back later!

 

Regards,

The Oracle of Dreams

About theoracleofdreams
The Oracle of Dreams is a High School teacher, who spends a great deal of time outside of school watching movies, listening to music, and various other artistic ventures. The Oracle of Dreams is a pseudonym for reasons beyond her knowledge, and wishes to keep her identity secret...or until she makes big bucks and can leave the teaching field...one can always dream bigger right?

Leave a Reply

