A Paranormal Library – Destination Truth

I would like to preface my review by stating that I have purchased all the books I review for the public.  I am in no way being paid for my reviews, but I am sharing my favorite paranormal books for your reading pleasure.  The opinions expressed in these books do not always reflect my own personal opinion, but I do find these topics fascinating.  Your purchases of these books do not monetarily benefit me, nor do I gain points with your readership or purchase.  I am sure, however, that the authors do enjoy your patronage.  Happy reading Dreamers!

This disclaimer is in reference of my use of the word “paranormal.”  My use of the word “paranormal” refers to anything that is not normal, be it ghosts, conspiracy theories or aliens.  If the topic is not part of conventional beliefs, then it is paranormal.  So please do not bombard me with comments about how something is or is not paranormal.

Destination Truth

New Episodes on SyFy in 2012

Josh Gates is the host of Destination Truth, born in Massachusetts, Josh gates received archaeology and drama degrees from Tufts University, has been involved in archaeological digs above ground and underwater, and he has been a photographer that has taken him all around the world.  He was recently inducted to The Explorer’s Club.

Now, here’s one show that I just cannot get enough of, and it is not because of Josh Gates, the host, who’s campy, pop-culture references stretching from Lost to Terminator 2, or his golden dreadlocks camera man Gabe (I WILL not go into detail on how sexy I find this man).  Ok, girl lust over, this show has just a great blend of jokes and serious research (for an hour only show) that makes the show highly interesting and entertaining.  Not only that, but aside from Monster Quest, this is the only other show that deals with investigations on Crypto-zoological* sightings.

While the show does leave more questions than answers, the cultural interest the show brings is more entertaining than the actual investigation.  The show allows those of us at home to see a culture we cannot go out and see.  The episode in Bhutan is an amazing example, because not only do you need to be invited to Bhutan by the government, the culture there has not changed much, with TV and internet becoming legal in 1999. The entertaining aspect was Team Truth’s encounter with a field of Marijuana plants (and by field I mean a field reaching far into the mountainside) and everyone laughing and wondering if they could bring the plant back to the United States.  I can’t remember which episode this happened in, or which continent this was on, but Team Truth was invited to a Tribal Initiation ceremony to gain information on the cryptid they were hunting.  In the initiation, they had to drink this concoction that was either psychotropic or just your general feel good, get high drink that one of the cameramen knew about.

In all seriousness, I love crypto-zoological stories and shows regarding such topics.  The reason being, was while I was a young Oracle of Dreams, my friends and then boyfriend, laughed at the fact that I would spend HOURS reading books on Bigfoot and The Loch Ness Monster, trying to see if there would be a grain of truth within these books as to the real existence of these cryptids.  That is where my love for Destination Truth has come in, I like that Josh Gates and others have not given up the search for these creatures that science has deemed mythological or extinct.  Destination Truth may not find these beasts that they search for, but the cultural lesson you get from these trips are more valuable, personally, than the proof of Bigfoot.  Watch if you love culture, watch if you love to find the unknown, either way Destination Truth is great!!

Watch on SyFy.com, Hulu, YouTube and Netflix on watch instantly.


* Crypto-zoology is the study of mythical beasts that are said to still exist in this world.  Cryptids (as these beasts are called) range from the ever known Bigfoot to Elves in Norway.

About theoracleofdreams
The Oracle of Dreams is a High School teacher, who spends a great deal of time outside of school watching movies, listening to music, and various other artistic ventures. The Oracle of Dreams is a pseudonym for reasons beyond her knowledge, and wishes to keep her identity secret...or until she makes big bucks and can leave the teaching field...one can always dream bigger right?

Leave a Reply

