When You Go Vintage Shopping Pt. 2 or how I started to like creepy dolls

The Boyfriend and I went vintage shopping again on Sunday, looking for a jacket that could be described as “Mobster” for our Halloween idea.  While we cannot find the perfect jacket, we were able to find some more amazingly scary dolls.  Behold your eyes to the scary dolls part 2!

To be completely honest, along with clowns, the dark, and other random phobias (or fears for those who want to get technical), I do get the creeps from weird looking dolls, to the point where I would walk away from a creepy doll and take the long way to an item I want to see.  What I have found lately though, is to take pictures of creepy dolls, and see if this would make my fear go away.  So far…this system has been working, and I have found myself LOOKING for creepy dolls to amass a giant collection and post them on my art site.  The joyful wanderings of Antique stores and vintage stores has been a wonderful experience, and if I can remember, the next time I go vintage shopping, I’ll HAVE to bring my DSLR camera and take better quality photos than my 3.1 MP phone camera.  Imagine! Creepy dolls in 12.0 HD MP goodness, think of the fear I’ll bring to the hearts of the three readers that read this blog! MUWHAHAHA!

Sorry, got away there for a second.  In retrospect, I started doing the same thing with clowns, and nearly had a panic attack just trying to get near this creepy death stare clown in the same location of these dolls.  My boyfriend was encouraging me the entire way, until I nearly fainted once I got my hand close enough to take the picture.  In the near coma state I put myself in, I had imagined my hand bitten off by the clown and me bleeding from the bloody stump as my shocked boyfriend beat the ceramic clown to smithereens, but the clown kept piecing itself back together showing us that my boyfriend’s efforts were for not, and we should get the hell out of that store.  For those concerned, I have spent years in therapy (4 since it was free at my college) to get over this clown phobia and short of hypnosis, I think I’ll just explain that my fear is based on a past life as one of John Wayne Gacy’s victims.  Interestingly, the numbers in his address keep appearing everywhere in my life…coincidence? I would like to think not, but it is highly possible.

Now, back to the dolls, I got bored on Monday night and spent an hour editing the photo I took of Creepy Doll 1.  My sister was quite unhappy that her new kitten (story to come after Halloween), was sitting in my lap as I happily clicked around Photoshop to create this haunting image.  My sister is another Creepy Doll Phobic, so she promptly grabbed our nine week old kitten and sat her away from my screen and started watching Frasier on Netflix.

Happy Halloween Everyone!!

Filter from night-fate

Regards,

The Doll Obsessed, Oracle of Dreams

About theoracleofdreams
The Oracle of Dreams is a High School teacher, who spends a great deal of time outside of school watching movies, listening to music, and various other artistic ventures. The Oracle of Dreams is a pseudonym for reasons beyond her knowledge, and wishes to keep her identity secret...or until she makes big bucks and can leave the teaching field...one can always dream bigger right?

Leave a Reply

